On January 23, 2014, approximately 100 Scouters from the Vulcan District gathered at Vestavia Hills United Methodist Church to celebrate the leadership and contributions of their adult leaders at the annual adult volunteer awards dinner. The Race to Excellence themed event recognized  adult leaders who provide the oversight and safety net that help the boys execute the BSA program in this youth-driven program. The meal for the evening event was provided by the Fish Market Restaurant. Attendees had an opportunity to win door prizes provided by Mountain High Outfitters, Barber Motorsports Park, and the District that included a number of useful camping and hiking items both individually and for groups. The members of the Order of the Arrow (Coosa Lodge) Nunne-Hi Chapter served as volunteers for the event as well as Troop 4 youth members who both aided the event and provided the color guard for the ceremonies.  

“It’s a great evening to honor the adults who are the advisors, counselors, go camping and really just are the go to adults for the youth involved in the scouting program,” according to David Keith, District Vice-Chairman and Master of Ceremonies for the evening,  “the strength of the scouting program is in the youth leadership and the committed adult involvement. Tonight is the district’s opportunity to tell them thank you on behalf of the scouts they work with.”

Individual Award honorees included:

Vulcan Award: Dean Snow
District Award of Merit: Katy Anderson, Mike Anderton, Kimberly Cook
Cub Scout Leader and Scouter’s’ Training AwardShawn Wright, Hunter Picket, Edward Simms, Jr.
Cubmaster’s KeyEdward Simms, Jr.
Scouter’s Training AwardDavid Weaver, Thomas LaVine, Thomas Latrell, James Williams, J.M. Hart, Linda Griggs, Alan Davis, W. Odom, Jr.
Scoutmaster’s KeyAllen Powell
Venturing Training AwardKelly Burns, David Dowd
Venturing Advisor Award of Merit*David Dowd
Unit Leader Award of MeritEdward Simms, Jr.
District Committee Training AwardDon Russell, Joe Swaika
 District Committee Key: Hunter Pickett
Unit Leader Award of MeritEdward Simms, Jr
District Committee Training AwardDon Russell, Joe Swaika
District Committee Key: Hunter Pickett

*Believed to be the first in Greater Alabama Council

Visit the Vulcan District Flickr page for more photos from the event.


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This